Author Topic: Job Burnout!  (Read 9342 times)

Offline Alieo

• Formerly "Texace12"
  • Platinum
  • Former undertaker; current overtaker.
Job Burnout!
« on: February 12, 2012, 09:15:23 PM »
Just to vent a little... I seriously almost walked out on my job today. I hung in there though. I am a floor manager at a grocery store, and it is UBER UBER stressful! I'm the guy that goes around and approves your checks, gives the cashiers/sackers breaks, overrides coupons, listens to customer complaints, etc. Today, in my over three years I've been at the company, and 10 years overall in the grocery business, I personally declare as THE hardest. It, for some F-ed up reason, was busier than the day before Christmas AND Thanksgiving COMBINED! It was pure horse manure I tell ya!

It's not that we don't have the help... We HAVE people (checkers and sackers) that want to work and complain they don't get enough hours, etc. BUT, upper management doesn't allocate enough hours to meet the demand, as per district management orders (and they're probably under divisional management orders). They wanna milk EVERY ounce of work out of the hourly employees that they can. It's a corporation; I understand that's how they make money; shooting for over 100% efficiency.

Still... as a floor manager, floor supervisor, manager's puppet, whatever the HELL you wanna call me, my job is to not be on a check stand, but to be out in the front "directing traffic" and jumping on a register and calling for backup when necessary. Jumping on when necessary... hmm... and it was necessary for me to be on the check stand for 6 straight hours today? No one could get their break! We NEEDED another checker, and we were denied that.