*

Author Topic: how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds  (Read 4687 times)

Offline NUMBERZero

  • PDPM
  • Platinum
  • *
  • Posts: 1178
  • The Flight Pattern Reader
    • YouTube
how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds
« on: March 07, 2010, 12:01:10 PM »
This is really a question for WillyP, but anyone else who knows would be great also.

Hey WillyP, remember when I was wondering how to get the D2 MIDI to MP3? I was wondering how you got stereo sound. I am able to record sounds, but only in Mono. Can you or anyone help? Thanks!
« Last Edit: March 07, 2010, 12:07:50 PM by NUMBERZero »
"I hate not being able to move in three dimensions. Cramps my style." -Cpt. Jack "Heartbreak One" Bartlett (Ace Combat 5)

Offline -<WillyP>-

  • Lt. Commander
  • Purple Heart
  • ****
  • Posts: 2375
  • I can haz personal text?
    • My photo gallery
Re: how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2010, 02:02:03 PM »
* WillyP ?

I don't think I even have D2 midis. Are you sure it was me?

But anyway ;) If you have software that can play a midi in stereo and record an mp3 in stereo I would think it should work. If not I am sure there are some free ones you can download.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2010, 02:05:47 PM by WillyP »
Smart people look like crazy people to stupid people.

Offline SaladBadger

  • Gold
  • ***
  • Posts: 602
Re: how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2010, 02:10:52 PM »
Enable stereo mix on XP. Fire up Audacity. Make sure the default sound file is created in stereo! Proceed to record and clip blank noise. Export. You're done

Offline NUMBERZero

  • PDPM
  • Platinum
  • *
  • Posts: 1178
  • The Flight Pattern Reader
    • YouTube
Re: how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2010, 02:26:12 PM »
Ahh I remember, it was Eagle131.

But I figured it out. The problem was Audacity. It was under Edit>preferances and then Recordings>dropdown menu Channels and that was set to 1. Set it to 2 now and it is good to go.
"I hate not being able to move in three dimensions. Cramps my style." -Cpt. Jack "Heartbreak One" Bartlett (Ace Combat 5)

Offline Kaiaatzl

  • An unusual choice for ship's cat
  • Platinum
  • ****
  • Posts: 1918
  • beware of ounce
Re: how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2010, 11:24:17 AM »
Ooooohhhh.... I remember when I had to figure that out.  I was trying to record the Sonic Heroes BGMs out of the in-game audio room and it kept recording in mono.  I eventually asked a friend for help, I think.

On both of the I've had, the soundcard can only record from a microphone.  If I want to record a midi as an MP3, I have to load it in FL Studio and export it using the Fruity LSD (which uses the soundcard's midi device.)  If I want to record with a soundfont, I have to use Synthfont, but it doesn't have very good quality.

I want to record some lines from Sonic Heroes for audio taunts in D3.  (E-123 Omega, Shadow, and Espio have some really good ones.)

Offline Matthew

  • Platinum
  • ****
  • Posts: 1275
    • Globalgamers.de
Re: how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2010, 08:42:14 PM »
is there a question somewhere alter-fox, or did you just tell a story?

Offline Kaiaatzl

  • An unusual choice for ship's cat
  • Platinum
  • ****
  • Posts: 1918
  • beware of ounce
Re: how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2010, 07:54:28 AM »
Sorry, pointless post.  I figured this thread was finished, though.

Offline DarkWing

  • Gold
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
Re: how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2010, 06:37:38 PM »
"Life's the same I'm moving in stereo ..."

(By The Cars, lyrics  .... or listen)

Offline D2Disciple

  • Major
  • Gold
  • ***
  • Posts: 524
  • Deal with it.
Re: how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2010, 08:04:38 PM »
Ah, give 'im a break, Matt. The story was on-topic and relevant... That's a lot more than I usually expect out of PD folks (including meh'self).  :P :D
I, for one, hope this is much, much more than a reconnaissance mission.

Offline Matthew

  • Platinum
  • ****
  • Posts: 1275
    • Globalgamers.de
Re: how to get stereo out mix to record stereo sounds
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2010, 08:19:54 PM »
Wasn't trying to be a smart-you-know-what, just couldn't think of any other way to phrase the questions.

 

An Error Has Occurred!

Cannot create references to/from string offsets