*

Author Topic: New D3Edit function(s)  (Read 5848 times)

Offline (LL)Atan

  • Gold
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
New D3Edit function(s)
« on: February 13, 2010, 02:27:31 AM »
I would like to show a picture of a new D3Edit function which is in use by beta testers for some time now.
It can be found inside : File->New->Spiral inside the next D3Edit version.

Other new thing is an attempt to produce 'curved connections' between rooms.

look at the pictures, I hope it's possible to see how it should work later.
 
« Last Edit: February 13, 2010, 02:41:13 AM by Atan »

Offline -<WillyP>-

  • Lt. Commander
  • Purple Heart
  • ****
  • Posts: 2374
  • I can haz personal text?
    • My photo gallery
Re: New D3Edit function(s)
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2010, 07:57:16 AM »
These are pretty amazing features. The whole concept of the generation of primitives is an extremely useful and time-saving feature. The hardest part will be to not overuse these features... That is, it's very easy to make rooms with extremely high face counts.

Atan, you have done some really great things with this editor... Thank You!

If it's not apparent to anyone viewing Atan's pics, what the second pic on is showing is being able to auto-magically build a segmented bridge between two rooms. You can then curve that bridge at will. When you are happy with the results, one click turns it into a new room. It works extremly well and saves a huge amount of tedious labor to try to join rooms with a smooth tunnel.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2010, 08:06:54 AM by WillyP »
Smart people look like crazy people to stupid people.

Offline Scyphi

  • Purple Heart
  • *****
  • Posts: 2370
  • TechPro Jr.
Re: New D3Edit function(s)
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2010, 06:31:15 PM »
Ah! So it's kind of like the curve generator in DMB2! :D
"I thought I had a great idea, but it never really took off. In fact, it didn't even get on the runway. I guess you could say it exploded in the hanger." -Calvin and Hobbes
Check out my deviantART

Offline (LL)Atan

  • Gold
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: New D3Edit function(s)
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2010, 03:45:36 AM »
It's near as in Devil or DMB2 yes, but not such perfect.
You can't do the same shapes as the curve generator inside that programs.
Devil and DMB2 used 4 Points (Verts) as base but D3Edit must handle with 3 to 64 verts now.
But inside D3Edit you can modify each single Segment (by move/rotate it).
This all was a quick try, which is not such bad if the two rooms are in opposite position, it will i.e. not work for the same room to make a corridor.
But look at the last picture, such constructions are easy to make now.

Offline Thomas

  • Gold
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • Dateiliste
Re: New D3Edit function(s)
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2010, 07:55:39 PM »
Yes, these tunnels and spirals can now easily be constructed.

Maybe even too easily.  ;D

We found already that it is tempting to use both figures too often. My favourites are the spirals. They toss up something new whenever you change one of the parameters, and I still haven't got a clue how to get what I want when i want it.

That's not so bad either; it provides diversity and randomness. :D

I only hope there won't be too many spirals and bent rooms everywhere...

Thanks for implementing these features.


Offline -<WillyP>-

  • Lt. Commander
  • Purple Heart
  • ****
  • Posts: 2374
  • I can haz personal text?
    • My photo gallery
Re: New D3Edit function(s)
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2010, 05:10:56 AM »
My thoughts exactly... a little goes a long way...

* WillyP scurries off to make some levels full of spiral tunnels...


... Actualy, I've found a little planning on paper helps with making a spiral. The curved tunnel works pretty nice, but if you mess with it too much, it looses it smoothness. Then you can just start over.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 05:15:27 AM by WillyP »
Smart people look like crazy people to stupid people.

Offline (LL)Atan

  • Gold
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: New D3Edit function(s)
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2010, 09:43:35 AM »
Keep in mind that these New-> xxx features are implemented to produce objects easily.
If you look to the shapes you'll see the faces point outwards.. :)
Sure you can use this for building room shapes too. But then the designer has to keep in mind that high-polygon count will slow down the engine.   

Offline -<WillyP>-

  • Lt. Commander
  • Purple Heart
  • ****
  • Posts: 2374
  • I can haz personal text?
    • My photo gallery
Re: New D3Edit function(s)
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2010, 10:04:44 AM »
That's a big problem for many of us,  older computers are the norm. With my old machine it would take around 1500 polys in a room to bog it down, if there was nothing else going on. This newer one much higher, I have yet to see a problem in D3.

Oh, I take that back, in 'Trophy' before you destroy the trophy it does get a little slow. But that is something like 3500 polys.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 10:06:55 AM by WillyP »
Smart people look like crazy people to stupid people.

Offline d3jake

  • Silver
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: New D3Edit function(s)
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2010, 12:41:45 PM »
This is heavily delayed, however I think it warrants posting:

Although I won't likely be designing levels any time in the near future, I thank you for your work Atan! Many others may drop supporting d3edit because of the dwindling community, but you do us a great service by continuing development.

Thank you!

Offline DwnUndr

  • Silver
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • Team RIP
Re: New D3Edit function(s)
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2010, 03:25:04 PM »
I am glad Atan is still working on it as well.  My attention may be on The UnderVerse (we have the 3rd most active Freelancer server in the World!) but I am not done with D3 yet.  Many innovations are still on the drawing board and I hope I can turn back to them some day.

 ;D

Offline (LL)Atan

  • Gold
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
Re: New D3Edit function(s)
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2010, 11:54:15 AM »
Thank you both for your friendly comments about!
I'm still active with that tool and you can be sure that I release AV41 soon.
I build my last two levels  Streetfighter and Dronsky with this new version and had no serious problems during the editing process.
As long as I'm building missions / level on my own I'll still find new ideas and insert them into D3Edit then.
And it doesn't matter if no one else besides me will use that cool tool anymore, I'll go ahead and try to make D3Edit just better..

 

An Error Has Occurred!

Cannot create references to/from string offsets