Author Topic: Impressive tech at a college kid budget? Why not?  (Read 5593 times)

Offline D2Disciple

• Major
  • Gold
  • Deal with it.
Impressive tech at a college kid budget? Why not?
« on: February 05, 2010, 07:01:54 PM »
This is more of a... Umm... showoff thread about my rigs than anything else. Just warning you. I doubt you care about all this, but I thought I'd waste cyberspace with news about my life and make it fairly educational at the same time.   :D

So everyone knows - college kids are POOR. I'm a good example of that. I work as an intern roughly 14 hours a week for minimum wage on computers. But hey, I am proof that any idiot with a job can afford lots of cool tech, if you just know where to sink your money and where to hold it tightly.

This new rig I've built has been in the works since the beginning of last semester (early September). It's not perfect, nor is it finished, but perhaps you'd like to see what you can get for chump change:

Okay. It's an ugly case, sure. But it was FREE from work (I literally pulled it out of the dumpster an hour after another intern threw it there). Old, ugly, scratched-up cases are everywhere for nothin'. Whaddya know, it had a CD-RW drive intact in there. And a floppy drive, but who cares? So lets see what I sank into it:

MSI G31-M2 V2 LGA775 mainboard  ~ $60
Intel Pentium 4 HT 3.4GHz Prescott 1MB L2 Cache ~ $25
3GB 800Mhz DDR2 SDRAM ~ $60
500GB Western Digital Caviar Green 5400-7200RPM SATA HDD ~ $60
EVGA nVidia GeForce 8600GT 256MB DDR2 VRAM ~ $30
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS ~ $40 (purchased a couple years ago)
Sunbeam Black Steel 580W Power Supply ~ $30
Antec 80mm blue LED fan ~ $10