Author Topic: I have the Power !!  (Read 12288 times)

Offline TechPro

• Lt. Commander
  • Platinum
  • Where was I?
I have the Power !!
« on: November 25, 2012, 06:16:35 PM »
Things were going fairly 'normal' and as expected, up until the lights went out, casting every room in the dark, except for those with open curtains. Immediately, growls and rumblings of frustration were heard from nearly every corner (except for my wife and I) as devices and computers suddenly became as worthless as the proverbial boat anchor (tho in truth, boat anchors are VERY valuable ... to the boat).  Sure, as a Tech by trade, I rely heavily on electronic devices and have five desktop computers in the house in active use plus a laptop and a couple mobile devices, not to mention the devices my off-spring have.  Seeing the power go off, and stay off for quite a while has to potential to be very perplexing and frustrating. 

Oddly enough I suppose, my wife and I were hardly fazed.  We simply handed flashlights to those who needed one, and used the opportunity to give young ones the chance to get dressed for Church by flashlight (a novel idea from the youngest's perspective).  My oldest though, was at a bit of a loss.  Complained he types and thinks much faster than he can write, thus making traditional writing by hand a fruitless venture.  I just smiled.  My daughter wondered if Church would still be held without power to which I assured her Church would probably still be held.  Without electronic distractions, it's curious how simple it was for everyone to be ready in plenty of time for Church.  Church was held as expected, a bit in the dark, but held anyway.  The congregation respectfully quiet, thus aiding the speakers to be heard without the benefit of a microphone.  When power returned part way through the services, I couldn't help but notice the increase of 'background noise' from the congregation throughout the remainder of the services.